Healthy on the GO

It is always a puzzle to plan for weekend getaways when you are not sure of the offerings at your destination. Our recent weekend getaway took us to an unknown territory, within civilization but unknown to us. It was a 4 hour drive for which we were well prepared. There was plenty of water, apples, granola bars and nuts for the car ride.

Once we got to the hotel, we searched for a nearby restaurant for dinner and also explored the offerings at the hotel. We found a nearby Mexican restaurant where I was sure to get a vegetarian option as well as a salad. Most other choices were fast food. While still at dinner, I was already thinking about breakfast. Knowing the options available at the hotel the wheels in my head were turning.

We had already checked out the gym at the hotel. So early the next morning we hit the bike, treadmill and elliptical. I settled on a granola bar and some nut-dry fruit mix while my family chose to get the oatmeal at the Café in the lobby. When I heard what they paid for the oatmeal I was determined to do better for the next morning. While the family played I headed to the nearest grocery store.

Another unknown! A store I had never shopped in. I surveyed the aisles for familiar foods. I had to pick things that did not require any preparation. I settled on cereal, bananas, organic skim milk, Triscuit crackers and low-fat cheese sticks. So glad there was a mini refrigerator in the room. We were all set for breakfast and snack the next day.

On the return trip home, we carried sandwiches, fruit (apples and bananas) and water to eat dinner in the car.

 

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

Tasty World

Recipes from around the world

spontaneous tomato

from the kitchen & travels of an always-hungry tomato-lover. (updated every other thursday)

Epicurean Group

Indulging in Excellence since 1982

Ambitious & Nutritious

Join a Registered Dietitian on her delicious adventures!

Diary of a Workout FreAk

Ramblings about my workouts & food

My Life : An Open Book

My Life : An Open Book

Julee Snyder Bodywork

bringing consciousness to the body

Nutri-Savvy's Blog

Healthy Eating And Lifestyle Tips Here!

The Muffin Myth

Know What You're Eating

One Happy Table

Vegan Food for the Whole Family

