Try, try, and try again

My goal for the new year is to try new things. Among them, blogging. So I tried two other platforms and am not sure I am comfortable or happy with either. So here I go again. I am trying another one. If this one does not work I will continue to try until I am satisfied.

I encourage the same attitude to all my clients. Keep trying. If you find it difficult, don’t give up. Think about ways to make it happen either by tweaking the goal so that it is achievable or by changing the way you may be approaching it. I recently read the book “Switch” by Dan and Chip Heath. I found their simple philosophy of “change” very useful in almost all aspects we may choose to change. 1. You have to convince the “Elephant” that the change is worth your efforts. 2. The “Rider” has to buy in. 3. The “Path” has to be smooth.

The “Elephant” refers to our heart. Do you believe in the change? Is there an emotional buy in? The “Rider” refers to our brain. Does the change you are attempting make sense? Is it logical? The “Path” is the way the change is implemented. Are we making it easier to make the change happen by removing obstacles along the way?

So if you are planning to make a change in your eating habits this year, remind yourself WHY you want to do that, keep the current research (through news and media) at your fingertips to help you make logical sense and make it easy on yourself by creating the environment where you are surrounded by good, healthy foods.

Along the way, if you stumble and have a bad day, acknowledge it and move on. Don’t dwell on it. Remind yourself of the very important “why”. Keep trying again and again and again.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

Tasty World

Recipes from around the world

spontaneous tomato

from the kitchen & travels of an always-hungry tomato-lover. (updated every other thursday)

Epicurean Group

Indulging in Excellence since 1982

Ambitious & Nutritious

Join a Registered Dietitian on her delicious adventures!

Diary of a Workout FreAk

Ramblings about my workouts & food

My Life : An Open Book

My Life : An Open Book

Julee Snyder Bodywork

bringing consciousness to the body

Nutri-Savvy's Blog

Healthy Eating And Lifestyle Tips Here!

The Muffin Myth

Know What You're Eating

One Happy Table

Vegan Food for the Whole Family

